The Last Painting of Sara de Vos

The Last Painting of Sara de VosThis is what we long for the profound pleasure of being swept into vivid new worlds, worlds peopled by characters so intriguing and real that we can t shake them, even long after the reading s done In his earlier, award winning novels, Dominic Smith demonstrated a gift for coaxing the past to

10

Categories: art history

The Collector’s Apprentice

The Collector’s ApprenticeIts the summer of 1922, and nineteen year old Paulien Mertens finds herself in Parisbroke, disowned, and completely alone Everyone in Belgium, including her own family, believes she stole millions in a sophisticated con game perpetrated by her then fianc , George Everard To protect herself from

8

Categories: art history

Oil and Marble: A Novel of Leonardo and Michelangelo

Oil and Marble: A Novel of Leonardo and MichelangeloFrom 15011505, Leonardo da Vinci and Michelangelo Buonarroti both lived and worked in Florence Leonardo was a charming, handsome fifty year old at the peak of his career Michelangelo was a temperamental sculptor in his mid twenties, desperate to make a name for himself.Michelangelo is a virtual

7

Categories: art history

Walk Through Walls: A Memoir

Walk Through Walls: A MemoirI had experienced absolute freedomI had felt that my body was without boundaries, limitless that pain didnt matter, that nothing mattered at alland it intoxicated me In 2010, than 750,000 people stood in line at Marina Abramovi s MoMA retrospective for the chance to sit across from her and

2

Categories: art history

Cooking for Picasso

Cooking for PicassoFor readers of Paula McLain, Nancy Horan, and Melanie Benjamin, this captivating novel is inspired by a little known interlude in the artists life The French Riviera, spring 1936 Its off season in the lovely seaside village of Juan les Pins, where seventeen year old Ondine cooks with her mother in

0

Categories: art history

Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers

Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh BrothersThe deep and enduring friendship between Vincent and Theo Van Gogh shaped both brothers lives Confidant, champion, sympathizer, friend, Theo supported Vincent as he struggled to find his path in life They shared everything, swapping stories of lovers and friends, successes and disappointments,

0

Categories: art history

Frida Kahlo: Una biografía

Frida Kahlo: Una biografíaPies para que os quiero, si tengo alas para volar Frida Kahlo fue algo m s que dolor y angustia Quiso ser fiel a su arrolladora personalidad y se convirti en una artista llena de vida Su pintura es sangre y sufrimiento, pero tambi n es fiesta y color Fue una luchadora que decidi ponerse el

7

Categories: art history

The Secret Lives of Color

The Secret Lives of ColorThe Secret Lives of Colour tells the unusual stories of seventy five fascinating shades, dyes and hues From blonde to ginger, the brown that changed the way battles were fought to the white that protected against the plague, Picasso s blue period to the charcoal on the cave walls at Lascaux, acid

9

Categories: art history

The Bridal Chair

The Bridal ChairIda Chagall, the only daughter of Marc Chagall, is blossoming in the Paris art world beyond her father s controlling gaze But her newfound independence is short lived In Nazi occupied Paris, Chagall s status as a Jewish artist has made them all targets, yet his devotion to his art blinds him to

4

Categories: art history

The Italian Teacher

The Italian TeacherRome, 1955 The artists are gathering together for a photograph In one of Rome s historic villas, a party is bright with near genius, shaded by the socialite patrons of their art Bear Bavinsky, creator of vast, masculine, meaty canvases, is their god Larger than life, muscular in both figure and

4

Categories: art history

Ninth Street Women: Lee Krasner, Elaine de Kooning, Grace Hartigan, Joan Mitchell, and Helen Frankenthaler: Five Painters and the Movement That Changed Modern Art

Ninth Street Women: Lee Krasner, Elaine de Kooning, Grace Hartigan, Joan Mitchell, and Helen Frankenthaler: Five Painters and the Movement That Changed Modern ArtFive women revolutionize the modern art world in postwar America in this gratifying, generous, and lush true story from a National Book Award and Pulitzer Prize finalist Jennifer Szalai, New York Times Set amid the most turbulent social and political period of modern times, Ninth Street Women

3

Categories: art history

Georgia: A Novel of Georgia O'Keeffe

Georgia: A Novel of Georgia O'KeeffeA novel about the life of American master painter Georgia OKeeffe, her love story with photographer Alfred Stieglitz, and her quest to come of age as a woman In this novel of a couple, and of passion, betrayal, and art, Georgia comes alive as never before By the writer whose work Edna OBrien

3

Categories: art history

The Story of Art

The Story of ArtThis text is the 16th revised and updated edition of this introduction to art, from the earliest cave paintings to experimental art Eight new artists from the modern period have been introduced They are Corot, Kollwitz, Nolde, de Chirico, Brancussi, Magritte, Nicolson and Morandi A sequence of

7

Categories: art history

The Lives of the Artists

The Lives of the ArtistsPacked with facts, attributions, and entertaining anecdotes about his contemporaries, Vasari s collection of biographical accounts also presents a highly influential theory of the development of Renaissance art.Beginning with Cimabue and Giotto, who represent the infancy of art, Vasari considers the

7

Categories: art history

Ways of Seeing

Ways of SeeingJohn Bergers Classic Text on ArtJohn Berger s Ways of Seeing is one of the most stimulating and the most influential books on art in any language First published in 1972, it was based on the BBC television series about which the London Sunday Times critic commented This is an eye opener in

2

Categories: art history

Art Through the Ages

Art Through the Ages The market leading text for the art history survey course, GARDNER S ART THROUGH THE AGES has served as a comprehensive and thoughtfully crafted guide to the defining phases of the world s artistic tradition With this book in hand, thousands of students have watched the story of art unfold in its

4

Categories: art history

Girl with a Pearl Earring

Girl with a Pearl EarringWith precisely 35 canvases to his credit, the Dutch painter Johannes Vermeer represents one of the great enigmas of 17th century art The meager facts of his biography have been gleaned from a handful of legal documents Yet Vermeer s extraordinary paintings of domestic life, with their subtle play

6

Categories: art history